

EPSOM AND EWELL

Minutes of the SPECIAL Meeting of the COUNCIL of the BOROUGH OF EPSOM AND EWELL held at the Town Hall, The Parade, Epsom on 19 July 2016

PRESENT -

The Mayor (Councillor George Crawford); The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Liz Frost); Councillors Chris Frost, Michael Arthur, Tony Axelrod, Richard Baker, John Beckett, Steve Bridger, Lucie Dallen, Neil Dallen, Hannah Dalton, Graham Dudley, Robert Foote, Rob Geleit, Eber Kington, Omer Kokou-Tchri, Jan Mason, Barry Nash, Peter O'Donovan, Martin Olney, Keith Partridge, Jane Race, David Reeve, Humphrey Reynolds, Guy Robbins, Vince Romagnuolo, Clive Smitheram, Alan Sursham, Mike Teasdale, Peter Webb, David Wood, Clive Woodbridge and Tella Wormington

<u>Absent:</u> Councillors Rekha Bansil, Kate Chinn, Alex Clarke, Tina Mountain and Jean Steer

The Meeting was preceded by prayers led by the Mayor's Chaplain

21 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

In the interests of openness and transparency, Councillor Michael Arthur declared an interest in that he was the subject of one of the proposals before the meeting. It was not considered that this represented a disclosable pecuniary interest.

22 CONFERMENT OF THE TITLES OF HONORARY FREEMAN AND HONORARY ALDERMAN

In accordance with the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 the Council considered the following proposals, relating to the conferment of the titles of Honorary Alderman and Honorary Freeman. In relation to each proposal the Council considered an amended citation, reciting the service of each proposed recipient to the Council and to the Borough.

It was **MOVED** by Councillor Clive Woodbridge and **SECONDED** by Councillor Clive Smitheram that:

"The title of Honorary Freeman of the Borough of Epsom and Ewell be conferred upon Councillor Michael Arthur."

It was further **MOVED** by Councillor Michael Arthur and **SECONDED** by Councillor Clive Woodbridge that:

"The title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Epsom and Ewell be conferred upon former Councillor Jean Smith."

It was further **MOVED** by Councillor Humphrey Reynolds and **SECONDED** by Councillor Clive Smitheram, that:

"The title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Epsom and Ewell be conferred upon former Councillor Nigel Pavey."

RESOLVED (unanimously)

To confer the title of Honorary Freeman on Councillor Michael Arthur and to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors Jean Smith and Nigel Pavey, with scrolls to be presented at a ceremony on a date to be agreed, at such cost as the Chief Executive shall consider appropriate.

The meeting began at 9.12 pm and ended at 9.18 pm

George Crawford MAYOR